Creating a Family Browser Toolbar

I’m very new to coding and I’ve been trying to develop a toolbar for my company that allows the user to place family instances using a pushbutton on a toolbar rather than searching through the project browser for the right family. I created an entire custom family library and now am trying to spoil us with a custom toolbar to easily find and place the family. I can get it to at least attempt to place the family but get an error that I can’t figure out as well “Exception: Family cannot be placed as hosted on an input face reference, because its FamilyPlacementType is not ViewBased” Im not sure exactly where I’m going wrong. Im trying to setup where it essentially runs the “Create Similar” command and automatically selects the corresponding family in the Project Browser.
#This is my Script following Erik Fritz#

from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *
#VARIABLES
doc = revit.ActiveUIDocument.Document
uidoc = revit.ActiveUIDocument
app = revit.Application
title = ‘Place New Instance’
active_view = doc.ActiveView
active_level = doc.ActiveView.GenLevel
import clr
clr.AddReference(‘System’)
from System.Collections.Generic import List

#pyrevit
from pyrevit import forms,revit

#MAIN
#=====================
#EXTRA FUNCTION
def get_type_by_name(type_name):
#CREATE RULE

param_type = ElementId(BuiltInParameter.ALL_MODEL_TYPE_NAME)
f_param = ParameterValueProvider(param_type)
evaluator = FilterStringEquals()
f_rule = FilterStringRule(f_param, evaluator, type_name, True)

#CREATE FILTER

filter_type_name = ElementParameterFilter(f_rule)
# GET ELEMENTS

return FilteredElementCollector(doc).WherePasses(filter_type_name).WhereElementIsElementType().FirstElement()

symbol = get_type_by_name(‘LB_Conduit_Body’)

#PLACE FAMILY

with Transaction(doc,title) as t:
t.Start()
# CHANGES HERE

element  = doc.Create.NewFamilyInstance(XYZ(0,0,0) , symbol, active_view)

t.Commit()