Warning before overwriting during installation?

I just made what I’m sure is considered a “classic” mistake. I updated PyRevit (by running the .exe) without thinking ahead, and therefore without realizing that all the script.py files I had modified would be overwritten with ‘fresh’ copies.

Maybe most people rely on GitHub to handle backups, but I’m new to this and was just happy I could effectively modify some scripts to better suit my needs. So I didn’t yet have any other copies of my changed.py files.

Might I suggest adding a note to the setup file’s first screen, in all-caps: “ALL EXISTING PYREVIT .PY FILES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN BY THIS INSTALLATION, INCLUDING ANY USER-MODIFIED SCRIPTS. IF YOU HAVE MADE ANY MODIFICATIONS, BACK THEM UP NOW BEFORE PROCEEDING.”

Hi @Revitech, sorry for not reaching out sooner.

I’m sorry you lost all the work!

Usually you don’t mess with the pyrevit files, but rather create your own extension with the modified version of the scripts. Custom extensions won’t be affected by a pyrevit upgrade.
This is also useful to share scripts with others, either via file sharing or a github repository.

We could add the message you wrote, and I agree that could help avoid honest mistakes, but this is something you should expect by almost all the software out there!
And… taking backups is something you should do regularly regardless of but especially before any software update, as anything could go wrong…
This is just my personal opinion, not sure if some other contributor would invest their free time to add this message.

2 Likes

Hi Andrea,