Script to Load and Insert Detail Family

Hi, all.
I’m new to pyRevit toolbar creation (just saw my first couple of videos on the topic recently), but am very excited for the opportunities ahead!
Could someone help me write a script for a pushbutton that will insert a detail family (or load one if it’s not already loaded)? The pseudo-code is as follows:

1. click button to start script (already have this and the button already works - but the script itself does nothing yet).
  2. script will check if a specific detail family, say “symbol.rfa”, is loaded into current project model.
  3. if it is loaded, the script gets it ready to be inserted into the working view (similar to how the “Detail Component” in the Annotate tab already works).
  4. if is not loaded, the script will then load that detail family from a specific folder, say C:\pyRevit\MyTools.
  5. after loading it into the current project model, the script gets it ready to be inserted into the working view.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Hi @EBSoares
Check out this: GitHub - jmcouffin/pyRevit-BILT_NA_2022

That will get you there.
In the handout i talk about content bundles or content button.

This is a bundle type that lets you attach 1 or 2 families to a push button.

You can also install this demo toolbar nad figure out how it works and how it is structured clicking on the button + alt.

Hi, @Jean-Marc - thanks for the reply :+1:

It looks like the code there would require the Revit family to be actually located in the folder for the pushbutton itself. And I’m not sure if the program would even check if the family is already loaded in the project model before attempting to load the family.

Is there a way to write a script that will do that? Just like the pseudo-code above? That way we can keep all of our families in their usual folder (so it’s easy to make updates), write down the actual file path in the script, and go from there.

Thanks in advance