Possible new-to-old workaround?

I am new to python, and have only gone as far with PyRevit as to modify a couple of scripts in small ways. However, I expect to spend more time over the coming months looking at ways to build small tools to help my Revit experience. Recently I had an idea which I thought I would ask about here first to see if it seems workable or not.

We’re a structural engineering firm, and we work with multiple versions of Revit – generally working in 2023 or 2024, but going back as far as 2021 depending on the architect’s version. Frequently I want to take a detail from Project A and use it in Project B, which won’t work if Project B is an older version.

Now, since most of this only involves linework – detail items and profiles – I wondered if there was a way to read all the specifications of a bunch of selected lines (i.e. the values of their x/y/length/radius/etc) and generate text to describe this – text which could of course be copied into a text editor independent of Revit. Then, a second script could be used to read this data (perhaps pasted in, perhaps reading from a saved txt file) and draw the specified lines.

This way, I could call the first script from Revit 2024, save my text ‘specification’ of the lines, then go to Revit 2021 and use those specs to create that linework inside that version of the program, where I can then use it as needed – thus successfully ‘importing’ the newer content into the older program.

Of course I could instead just export the 2024 linework as CAD, then import that into the older version and trace, but I think my idea (if it can work) would be faster and pretty foolproof.

So – any thoughts? Is this even possible/practical? Thanks for any input.

Create details in 2020. And families as well. Or whatever the safest older version is for you. Then it always compatible.

Do these details get modified or are they the same for each job?