Copy sheets and floor plan views that exist in a linked model

Great tools here! Just getting started with it and on the brink of trying to do some self-taught learning of Python (wish me luck!). Looking to hopefully some day create my own tools for MEP type workflows!

Can the pyRevit command for “Copy Sheets to Open Documents” be recreated in any manner such that:

1. sheets can be copied from a linked document instead of just an open document
  2. the plan view(s) and their specific locations on the sheets copied in addition to other view types

I’ve posted on this topic in the Dynamo Forum previously, and thought this might be a different group of people who may be able to help figure out the issue…

Thanks in advance!

I’m sure you know that ‘model’ views, even if the are recreated in a another Revit model, would only show the contents of the actual 3d model. So copying a plan view would only bring the view definition and not the content. Copying such views is actually not possible in Revit API, so the tool must read all the properties of the original view, and recreate the same views in the target model. This, is also quite limited in the API

Thank you for the response @eirannejad!

Sounds exactly like what I’d like to see accomplished!
With my limited knowledge though, it sounds pretty in-depth and difficult, but not impossible…would you agree?

I compare what I’m trying to do here to the way an MEP project would have been set up in AutoCAD, prior to the days of Revit. Essentially, the architects would have created the sheets with overall plan views and additional sheets with enlarged views on them. An MEP engineer would generally copy the architects sheets, along with the reference files (Xref). All of the annotations in the views would then be deleted, allowing just the Xref to remain as the starting backgrounds for the MEP designs.